I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2006 (SECOND) Regular Session

Executive Committee Resolution No. 114

Introduced by:

Ray Tenorio

L. F. Kasperbauer

A. R. Unpingco

F. B. Aguon, Jr.

J. M.S. Brown

Edward J.B. Calvo

B. J.F. Cruz

Mike Cruz

Mark Forbes

R. Klitzkie

L. A. Leon Guerrero

J. A. Lujan

A. B. Palacios

R. J. Respicio

J. T. Won Pat

Relative to recognizing and commending the Laguna Association of Guam on its Sixth (6th) Anniversary and outstanding accomplishments, and congratulating the 2006 Officers, Board of Directors and Advisors; and to express *Un Dan'kolo Na Si Yu'os Ma'åse'* to its members for its many valuable contributions to the people of Guam.

- BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I
- 2 MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:
- 3 WHEREAS, the families of Afuang, Agbada/Cahinhinan, Baldemor,
- 4 Baet/Gagaring and San Agustin from the remote town of Paete; the Milano

1 family from Pila; and the Guevara family from Santa Cruz, Laguna, Philippines; formed the Laguna Association of Guam on January 17, 2000, 2

together with forty-eight (48) individuals representing twenty-eight (28) 3

families with a vision of fostering camaraderie and service to our island 4

5 community; and

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

WHEREAS, the Laguna Association elected charter Officers and Board of Directors at its initial membership meeting of January 30, 2000, and subsequently obtained certification as a civic, non-profit organization with the filing of its Constitution and By-Laws with the Department of Revenue & Taxation on April 6, 2000. Mrs. Nelia Cahinhinan, the first elected President, presided over the Charter Inauguration and formal induction of the Laguna Association of Guam Officers and Board of Directors on May 28, 2000; and

WHEREAS, the Laguna Association of Guam membership is comprised of individuals with lofty ideals to promote brotherhood; protect the interest of its members; invite all residents of Guam, including but not limited to, Filipinos and Fil-Chamorros, regardless of province-birth, eager and willing to be adopted sons and daughters of the historical province of Laguna, 'The Resort Province of the Philippines'; and

WHEREAS, the Laguna Association of Guam enthusiastically pursued activities to attain its Constitution and By-Laws objectives, actively recruiting friends and relatives, affectionately referred to as 'Kababayans', to join monthly board and quarterly membership meetings as evidenced by the substantial membership growth in a year's time from twenty-eight (28) families to one

1 hundred sixty-two (162) families, amounting to three hundred (300)

2 individuals; and

WHEREAS, the Laguna Association of Guam volunteered time for immediate and sustained humanitarian service for typhoon disaster victims and sponsored successful fundraisers contributing to many admirable causes; and

WHEREAS, the Laguna Association of Guam has received accolades from numerous organizations, such as our island's Guam Lytico & Bodig Association; the American Red Cross; the American Cancer Society; the Alee Shelter; the Guam Skilled Nursing Facility; Saint Dominic's Adult Care Home; Catholic Social Services; *Guma Trankilidad*; Guam Community College Scholarship Program; Two Lover's Point and Liberation Day festivity organizers; Philippine Consulate Office; and M.A. Ulloa Elementary School; non-profit organizations in the Association's motherland to include the Philippine National Red Cross, Laguna Chapter for typhoon disaster victims; and the Philippine *Bantay Bata* 163 for abused children and afflicted with dreadful diseases; the Calamba Parish Church; the Laguna Governor's Abused Wife Foundation; and the *Nayon Turo-turo* Organization; and

WHEREAS, the Laguna Association of Guam volunteers financial assistance and support to members in need; and provide canopies, chairs, tables, coolers, jugs, and other required items for meetings and special gatherings and actively participates in the Veterans of Foreign Wars (VFW) annual celebration; and

WHEREAS, the Laguna Association of Guam was awarded the "Best Cultural" display at the Pista Nang Nayon Festivities 2003, held at Governor Joseph Flores Beach Park, Tumon; and maintains the annual Laguna Association of Guam Christmas caroling for our island residents; and WHEREAS, the Laguna Association of Guam's commitment to preserving its cultural heritage is demonstrated through the purchase and unveiling of a bust of Dr. Jose Rizal, the Philippine's National Hero, in conjunction with the celebration of Rizal Day, December 30, 2003, and its assumption of responsibility for the building, restoration and beautification of the Laguna shelter located at Greg D. Perez Marina in Hagåtña; and WHEREAS, the Laguna Association of Guam has proven to be a proud part of our island's Filipino society, the Guam community, and dedicates itself to giving back to our island community and remains committed to improving the quality of life to those less fortunate right here at home and continue to strive to achieve much more in years to come; and

WHEREAS, the Laguna Association of Guam celebrates its Sixth (6th) Anniversary on March 25, 2006, at the Guam Marriott Resort with the induction of its 2006 Officers: Mr. Rene Valenzuela, President; Mr. Alex B. Gagaring, Vice President; Ms. Baby Lasanas, Corresponding Secretary; Ms. Enrie Abaya, Recording Secretary; Ms. Letty Villas, Treasurer; Ms. Rose Milano, Assistant Treasurer; Mr. Rudy Cahinhinan, Auditor; Ms. Rose Roberto, Business Manager; Ms. Ellie Baldemor, Assistant Business Manager; Ms. Jovy Valenzuela, Public Relations Officer; Messrs. Jeffrey Guevara, Narsing Lasanas, and Rufino Elomina, Peace Officers; and its Board of

- 1 Directors: Mr. Eddie Abaya, Mr. Angel Baldemor, Mr. Ebbs Baldoz, Ms.
- 2 Nancy Baldoz, Ms. Rina Basbas, Mr. Mario Briones, Ms. Araceli Cariaga, Mr.
- 3 Narciso Custodio, Ms. Grace Evangelista, Mr. Jojo Guevara, Mr. Nanding
- 4 Guevarra, Ms. Aida Miranda, Mr. Dan Romulo, Ms. Lolit Tuazon, and Ms.
- 5 Tess Veracruz; and its Advisors: Ms. Nelia Cahinhinan, Dr. Jose Cariaga, Mr.
- 6 Quirino Basbas, Mr. Joe Guevara, Ms. Sonnie Hetzel, Mr. Willie Miranda and
- 7 Mr. Joe T. San Agustin; now, therefore, be it
- 8 **RESOLVED**, that the Executive Committee of I Mina'Bente Ocho Na
- 9 Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the
- 10 people of Guam, congratulate the Laguna Association of Guam and
- 11 commends the hard work and commitment of the leadership of the
- 12 Association and its members, who are the driving force behind immeasurable
- 13 achievements, for their valuable contributions to the people of Guam; and be
- 14 it further
- 15 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairman of the Executive
- 16 Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption
- 17 hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Mr. Rene
- 18 Valenzuela, President, Laguna Association of Guam; to the Honorable
- 19 Teresita Mendiola, Philippine Consulate General; to the Honorable Teresita S.
- 20 Lazaro, Governor, Laguna Province, Philippines; and to the Honorable Felix
- 21 P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE 9^{TH} DAY OF JANUARY 2006.

MÁRK FORBES

Speaker and

Chairman, Executive Committee

EDWARD J.B. CALVO

Senator and

Secretary of the Legislature